25989_Sirena_130717-1170x780.jpg

Breathe

Take you by the heart, the senses, swim, dive, float ...

Walk, madly, in the hollow of creeks, on the hills, in the vineyards or as simple visitors with their noses in the air, along the paths and alleys.

Let yourself be carried away by the dream of the present moment, and embrace these scenes. Feel your belonging to the Earth.

 

Space...

Everything is there in front of you, everything that our Mother Earth, Alma Mater, offers, the mountain behind your back, the immensity of the sea and the sky, the trees and the forest, the plains, the rivers, the creeks and the rocky cliffs.

COLLIOURE

“Collioure has been nicknamed the“ jewel of the Côte Vermeille ”. A title that is not usurped! With the curious bell tower-lighthouse of its church at the water's edge, its royal castle, its alleys with colorful houses and boats moored in its port, Collioure has a crazy charm.

We walk there with happiness, along its small pebble beach, to the end of the jetty. After a visit to the royal castle, 700 years old and dominating the port, we go to the Church of Our Lady of the Angels (17th century), a true emblem of the city, whose bell tower is nothing short of other than the old port lighthouse! Right next door, the Mouré district seduces with its ocher and pink houses, its flowered balconies, its narrow streets paved with pebbles. A fireworks display of colors, which conquered Matisse and the wild beasts at the start of the 20th century. The tourist office has also set up a path of Fauvism, with about twenty reproductions placed at the same place where the painters put their easels. To have a bird's eye view of Collioure, climb to Fort Saint-Elme (30 min walk). From up there, a breathtaking 360 ° panorama of the city and the sea! »Extract from Routard.

collioure_plage_st_vicens_credit_photo_v
derain-tableau-phare-de-collioure.jpg

AN ARTIST'S VILLAGE 

In the 19th century, painters and photographers were already coming.
In the summer of 1905, Henri Matisse came to paint in Collioure, where, together with André Derain, he created fauvism. A tour of the city, Le Chemin du fauvisme, allows you to find the places where their works were produced thanks to reproductions of paintings placed in the very places where Matisse and Derain once placed their easels34.
Other painters will follow, notably Albert Marquet, Juan Gris, Georges Braque, Jean Peské, Raoul Dufy, Foujita, Othon Friesz, Paul Signac, Willy Mucha, Henri Martin and his son Claude-René Martin, Henri Vergé-Sarrat, Édouard Pignon , Pierre Jutand, Pierre Boudet, Charles Rennie Mackintosh, Philippe Jamin ...

118471124_1508908142644759_3010356505490
chateau royal
chateau royal

press to zoom
quartier du faubourg
quartier du faubourg

press to zoom
Plage saint vincens
Plage saint vincens

press to zoom
chateau royal
chateau royal

press to zoom
1/5
118686065_2799331523621065_8030055475088

Collioure specialties

  • Many wines are produced there: AOC Collioure (in red, white and rosé), AOC Grand Roussillon, Muscat de Rivesaltes, Banyuls grand cru and IGP Côte Vermeille28.

  • Of the many salting and selling companies of Collioure anchovies , a local specialty, established in the city until the middle of the last century, only two still exist: Roque Anchovies and Desclaux Anchovies.

anchois-collioure.jpg

Places and monuments

  • Notre-Dame-des-Anges Church (Classified MH (1923)): Built between 1684 and 1691 in a southern Gothic style. It is, with its famous bell tower, a former medieval lighthouse, practically surrounded by the sea on its three sides;

  • Saint-Vincent Chapel: Built in 1701

  • The Royal castle

  • The modern art museum

  • The path of fauvism

  • Fort St Elme

  • Hermitage of Notre-Dame-de-Consolation, adjoining a chapel, religious first, secular after the revolution

  • The mill

around...

25989_Sirena_130717-1170x780.jpg

Respirez

Vous prendre par les sens, le coeur, nager, plonger, flotter...

Marcher, au creux des criques, sur les collines, dans les vignes, les gorges ou en simples visiteurs le nez en l’air, au fil des sentiers et ruelles.

Se laisser porter par le rêve de l’instant présent, et embrasser ces scènes. Ressentir notre appartenance à la Terre.

 

L’espace...

Tout est là devant vous, tout ce qu’offre notre Terre mère, Alma Mater, la montagne dans votre dos, l’immensité de la mer et du ciel, les arbres et la foret, les plaines, les rivières, les criques et les falaises rocheuses.

COLLIOURE

"Collioure a été surnommée le « joyau de la Côte Vermeille ». Un titre qui n’est pas usurpé ! Avec le curieux clocher-phare de son église au bord de l’eau, son château royal, ses ruelles aux maisons colorées et les barques amarrées dans son port, Collioure possède un charme fou. 

On s’y promène avec bonheur, le long de sa petite plage de galets, jusqu’au bout de la jetée. Après une visite du château royal, vieux de 700 ans et dominant le port, on se rend à l’église Notre-Dame des-Anges (XVIIe s.), véritable emblème de la ville, dont le clocher n’est rien d’autre que l’ancien phare du port ! Juste à côté, le quartier du Mouré séduit avec ses maisons ocre et roses, ses balcons fleuris, ses ruelles pavées de galets. Un feu d’artifice de couleurs, qui a conquis Matisse et les fauves au début du XXe siècle. L’office du tourisme a d’ailleurs mis en place un chemin du fauvisme, avec une vingtaine de reproductions placées à l’endroit même où les peintres ont posé leur chevalet. Pour avoir une vue plongeante sur Collioure, grimpez au Fort Saint-Elme (30 min de marche). De là-haut, panorama époustouflant à 360° sur la ville et la mer ! » extrait du Routard. 

collioure_plage_st_vicens_credit_photo_v
derain-tableau-phare-de-collioure.jpg

UN VILLAGE D’ARTISTES
 

Au XIXe siècle, il venait déjà des artistes-peintres et des photographes .
À l'été 1905, Henri Matisse vient peindre à Collioure, où, en compagnie d'André Derain, il crée le fauvisme. Un parcours dans la ville, Le Chemin du fauvisme, permet de retrouver les lieux où leurs œuvres ont été réalisées grâce à des reproductions de tableaux placées aux endroits mêmes où Matisse et Derain placèrent, jadis, leur chevalet34.
D’autres peintres suivront, notamment Albert Marquet, Juan Gris, Georges Braque, Jean Peské, Raoul Dufy, Foujita, Othon Friesz, Paul Signac, Willy Mucha, Henri Martin et son fils Claude-René Martin, Henri Vergé-Sarrat, Édouard Pignon, Pierre Jutand, Pierre Boudet, Charles Rennie Mackintosh, Philippe Jamin...

 

118471124_1508908142644759_3010356505490
chateau royal
chateau royal

quartier du faubourg
quartier du faubourg

Plage saint vincens
Plage saint vincens

chateau royal
chateau royal

1/5
118686065_2799331523621065_8030055475088

Spécialités de Collioure 

 

  • De nombreux vins y sont produits : l'AOC Collioure (en rouge, blanc et rosé), les AOC Grand Roussillon, Muscat de Rivesaltes, Banyuls grand cru et l'IGP Côte Vermeille28.

  • Des nombreuses entreprises de salaison et vente d'anchois de Collioure, une spécialité locale, installées dans la ville jusqu'au milieu du siècle dernier, seules deux existent encore : les Anchois Roque et les Anchois Desclaux. 

anchois-collioure.jpg

Lieux et monuments 

 

  • Église Notre-Dame-des-Anges ( Classé MH (1923)) : Construite entre 1684 et 1691 dans un style gothique méridional. Elle est, avec son célèbre clocher, ancien phare médiéval, pratiquement entourée par la mer sur ses trois côtés ;

  • Chapelle Saint-Vincent : Construite en 1701

  • Le chateau Royal

  • Le musée d'art moderne

  • Le chemin du fauvisme

  • Le fort St Elme

  • Ermitage de Notre-Dame-de-Consolation, attenant à une chapelle, religieux d’abord, laïc après la révolution 

  • Le moulin

autour...